Forge Leadership


Seth Cohen, Ph.D.
Scientific Co-Founder

David Puerta, Ph.D.
Co-Founder, COO & VP Discovery

Zachary Zimmerman, Ph.D.
Co-Founder & CEO

Andrew Tomaras, Ph.D.
Chief Scientific Officer


Brian Dorsey, M.S.
Partner of Magna
Sci Ventures
Mario Polywka, D.Phil.
Former COO of Evotec AG
John Schmid, MBA
Former CFO of Trius and Auspex Pharmaceuticals
Steve Worland, Ph.D.
President and CEO of eFFECTOR Therapeutics
Zachary Zimmerman, Ph.D.
CEO of Forge Therapeutics


Michael Barbachyn, Ph.D.
Co-inventor of the antibiotics linezolid (marketed as Zyvox) and sutezolid, and former director-level contributor to antibacterial discovery at Pharmacia, Pfizer and AstraZeneca.
Seth Cohen, Ph.D.
Scientific co-founder of Forge, professor and former Chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of California, San Diego.
John Rex, M.D.
Chief Medical Officer and Director at F2G Ltd. and a voting member on the Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic Resistant Bacteria (PACCARB).
Karen Joy Shaw, Ph.D.
Current Chief Scientific Officer of Amplyx Pharmaceuticals and former SVP Biology at Trius Therapeutics leading the microbiology strategy for Tedizolid development; former Antibacterial Team Leader Johnson & Johnson and Schering Plough.
Lynn Silver, Ph.D.
Involved in the discovery of the first inhibitors of LpxC, and the development of the antibiotic Invanz at Merck where she held the title of senior investigator.
Mark Whittaker, D.Phil.
SVP Drug Discovery at Evotec and former Director Medicinal Chemistry at British Biotech.
Lloyd Payne, D.Phil.
Founding CEO of specialty anti-infectives CRO Euprotec, former Executive Vice President and Head of Anti-infectives at Evotec and current member of Novo REPAIR’s Scientific Selection Board